Passionate work

I’ve felt that I’ve been at a crossroads with regards to my employment for at least the last two years. Now I’m a millennialist, I have my bachelor’s degree, and I’ve had a full-time job for 5+ years, at my current job for over 3. But I haven’t gotten anywhere, despite all my efforts. There’s been little “awards” and “achievements” along the way, just enough so I have kept on slogging it out, day in and day out, in the hopes that “one day” I will be seen good enough to be promoted.

However, I’m not happy with that, I’m not a person that likes mediocrity and complacency, and to just “put up” with what I have to do to get through another day, another week, another year at a job that is supposed to be allowing me to challenge me, fulfill me, and require all my passionate energies. I have no idea what I want to be doing, well, I have hunches. I’m a talented, well-liked, intelligent individual with a passion to always be learning and a desire to help people. But what do I want to learn? How do I want to help people? That I don’t know. I’ve been watching quite a few Ted.com videos… they challenge me, inspire me. I am going to make a change. Don’t know what, where, or how. But I want to do it.

From different sources, I keep hearing the same mantra: Find passionate people, learn and ask questions, and find out what makes you “buzzed”. Part of this blog is that I hope it helps me discover who I am, what I can do, and where my passions are. I haven’t really explored that, and I am excited to get started. So – my very few readers that I have, follow along, help me, critique me – but I don’t want to settle for mediocrity. I want to find a job I can feel passionate about. A place where I am excited to go to work every day, my coworkers are excited about their work and the opportunities it provides, and that supports me living the life I want to experience outside of the workplace.

One thought on “Passionate work

  1. The fact that you desire change and are choosing not to settle is the first step. It’s admirable b/c a lot of people simply stay where it’s “comfortable” even when they know they could be doing so much more. I would love to help you out in any way I can. Check out my website and if you feel inspired, send me an email and I would love to chat with you.

Leave a Reply

