“A grandfather …

“A grandfather is someone with silver in his hair and gold in his heart.” – Unknown

I’d like to take this time to write a shout-out to my Grandpa Frost. It’s his birthday today, and I think it’s high-time I tell the world how freaking amazing he is. 🙂 He married into our family when I was a child, but I can’t dream that any other man, blood-relative or not would have taken us all into his heart the way he did and does. The first time I ever met him, my family lived on the opposite side of the country, and he and my Grandma flew to visit us for a week or so. I remember I was so impressed when he recited my full name in the airport when we came to pick them up – nicknames and all (no, I’m not typing it out, ask me in person, and I might tell you it). He immediately endeared himself into my heart (I AM the oldest of the grandchildren, so I think I deserve a bit more of their attention – just sayin’). He’s always had a full beard – perfect for babies to play with. He has strong hands to give wonderful neck massages, he’s a walking encyclopedia – always giving out fascinating little-known trivia facts about practically anything and everything under the sun. Once we moved back into their neck of the woods, I try to take every opportunity I can to spend time with him. We’ve gone on hikes, I’ve gone with them RV-ing, of course done sleepovers, road-trips, and trying out new restaurants. My grandpa has watched me grow, and as I’ve become an adult, I’ve been able to see a different side of him now that we can share more adult activities (nothing like a cold beer together on a hot day) and adult conversations. He was the first person in my family to tell me that he approves of my boyfriend – which means alot to me, and to my boyfriend, who has never really had grandparents or even a decent father-figure in his life. Last month, I had one of the funnest times with my grandpa – We went to an Oktoberfest – just him and I. Both of our partners had to work that day, but going to the Oktoberfest is something that we’ve done as much as we can… and I normally go with my grandparents at least, but that day was the only day I could go, so the night before, I called him up and he was up for the spontaneous trip, so we went! The first time I had ever had one-on-one time with just him. It was such a special, neat, bonding time, just him and I. We ate sausages, drank beer, and people-watched. Didn’t talk about much important, but what was important was spending time together. I will always treasure that memory. Happy Birthday Grandpa! I hope you have many more, and know that you are very, very loved by your oldest granddaughter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

